Scrolls of Lore Forums  

Go Back   Scrolls of Lore Forums > WarCraft Discussion > WarCraft Lore Discussion

Old 10-16-2005, 12:03 PM

Mountain Giant

Default A few concerns about the Warcraft world

Now I have been a fan of Warcaft's story line for some time, though I am far from an expert. I lack WoW and the rpg books, so perhaps some you who are more knowledgeable can alleviate my worries. My concerns are the following:

1) The Warcraft universe is too crowded. Azeroth is not a very big planet, and while it is true that some relatively small areas of our planet have rich and conflict filled histories (Greece is an excellent example), I for one am afraid that Blizz might be trying to pull off too much in too small a space. There are countless varieties of monsters, several major races and nations, but no clear indication as to how many beings actually exist in the world (or how many resources they need).

2) Too much havoc. I realize that war is the very basis for this series, but I think that if the story is to have any semblence of realism, that they need to take a longer rest from combat. WoW only takes place a few years after Warcraft III, which saw a plague decimate Lordaeron, a demonic invasion, and various other fun things. So as Blizz strives to throw more evils at the mortal races of Azeroth, they are really stretching how much said races can take before being reduced to nothing.

3) Compromise becoming permament. When I speak of compromise I mean compromising the story for gameplay purposes. Certainly, I am not saying that no such things should take place. Far from it. As a developer, Blizz's first duty is to make a fun game and thereby turn a profit. And sometimes to balance the game they need to make alterations. I just hope they don't make certain things permanent: as an example, in WoW paladins' light attacks do not wipe the floor with the Forsaken.
Old 10-16-2005, 01:14 PM

Ethermancer - Admin
BattleTag: Cantus#1700