Scrolls of Lore Forums  

Go Back   Scrolls of Lore Forums > WarCraft Discussion > WarCraft Lore Discussion

Old 07-01-2013, 06:48 PM

Druid of the Claw

Default Literary Review/Analysis of WarCraft III

Hi everyone

I decided to do a literary analysis on WarCraft III. So far I've only done the Prologue and the Human Campaign but I'm planning on doing the rest in the following weeks.

In my analysis I plan on looking at how the story is written to gain a better understanding of what is written e.g. I analyse the dialogue and body language. I try to focus more on the subtle and nuanced messages of the story rather than the more obvious ones. I'm not too good with computers so I didn't know how to transfer all of this to this forum with the correct formatting so I just decided to link people to my blog.

You can read my analysis here:

http://videogamestoryplotnarrativean...-reign-of.html

http://videogamestoryplotnarrativean...eign-of_2.html

BTW my review is 12000+ words so it'll take a while to read it.

As for myself, well I'm a literary enthusiast and I really like to analyse storylines. Video game storylines are usually overlooked so I plan on analysing them in my blog. My reviews aren't for everyone because at times I can overthink myself or get a little too analytical but sometimes that can be a good thing. Here's a sample of what I wrote about the ambassador in the cinematic where Medivh warns Terenas:

Quote: